About Me

I have over 5 years experience professionally tutoring:

Maths - Private and grammar school entry exams, KS3, GCSE, iGCSE and A-level.
Physics - Private and grammar school entry exams, KS3, GCSE, iGCSE and A-level.
Chemistry - Private and grammar school entry exams, KS3, GCSE and iGCSE.
Astronomy KS3 and GCSE.

Average improvment of my students in 2019 was 2.8 grades! Out of a total of 12 students with exams (including this years mocks).

For homeschooled students booking lessons before 3pm I'll give 10% off.

Hi there, my name is John, I'm 22 years old and a graduate of Lancaster University with a diploma in Mathematics with Physics. I am now tutoring as my full time job. I have over 5 years tutoring experience and have had fantastic results and feedback. I am very passionate and enthusiastic about maths, physics, astronomy and chemistry, teaching it and helping others. I've been on teacher training days and volunteered in schools to improve my tutoring skills as well as extensively researched different teaching methods so I can tailor the tutoring experience to each individual student. Now I have finished my studies I am tutoring and developing my website and app full time.

I love tutoring, so much so that I am developing my own tutoring website to give my students the best possible tutoring experience. All my students have free, unlimited access to my website. There is online worksheets, printable revision sheets and worksheets available for a lot of topics and I make more every day. All of my students use my site on a regular basis, they are all saying it is extremely useful and are very excited for it to be fully finished. My site will soon have a student portal, parents portal, live grade predictions and progress tracking, I will also have an app for all my students (launching May 2020).

Over 95% of my GCSE students have achieved a grade 6 or better for higher (or a grade 5 for foundation), over 50% achieved an 8 or better. Over 80% of my A-level students have achieved an A or better.

Each week I set one or both of online homework on my website and written homework exercises as the system I have stores the online results so I can closely monitor the student's progress over time and easily see any gaps in their knowledge.

I write my own worksheets and exams tailored to each student I tutor. I also write revision sheets and videos (on request) for no additional charge, summarising the material covered after we finish a topic.

I usually spend 1-2 hours writing notes, worksheets and ideas after every lesson. This is all included in the lesson price. I want my students to really feel as if they're getting their money's worth.

I am happy to send you sample materials of the content I make. So you can see the quality of service you will receive before you make any commitment.

My teaching style is based on relational learning. I teach my students how to understand maths rather than just answer the questions. I focus on a deep understanding so the knowledge will be based in their long term memory rather than their short term memory.

I have a car so can drive to your house if you prefer (though there will be a mileage fee).

This year all my students achieved either their target grade, most were 1 - 2 grades higher and one student improved from an E to an A with around 60 hours tutoring, though I cannot guarantee this level of improvement for every student, it is possible.

I have taught over 100 students including adult learners, A level students, GCSE students, many home educated students and primary school children and had fantastic feedback from all my students. They all said they felt far more confident in their maths and science ability and well prepared for their exams.

I got an A* in my maths A level and an upper second class grade last year at university. Private tutoring is something I've always wanted to do as I was home educated for my GCSE's and had private tutors help me through those. Since then I've always wanted to be a tutor myself so I can help others through their exams.

I believe I would be a fantastic tutor for you, not only because I am enthusiastic, but because I've recently gone through the stress and pressures of GCSEs and A-levels myself. Not only can I help your child's learning but I could offer coping strategies for the stress that comes with exams and critical exam technique skills.

I also have extensive knowledge of the GCSE and A-level maths, physics, chemistry and astronomy syllabi, so prepare my students fully for any question they could get asked.

I will

- Teach all content required in preparation for the exams.
- Ensure examination questions are practiced thoroughly and ensure my students include all lines of working out in order to achieve full marks on each question.
- Provide relevant homework, in exam style questions, after each lesson to consolidate their knowledge.
- As well as online resources, I write my own homework questions tailored to each individual student.
- After each lesson (on request) discuss the students progress and how the lesson went, with the parent and student.
- Undergo regular assessments for evidence based grade progression.
- Discuss coping mechanisms for exam stress and time management with each student.
- Mileage fee, £3 for every 5 minutes travel time (non negotiable as I have to be fair and consistent with all clients).
- Plan a personal exam strategy for each student in order to optimise their average ‘marks per minute’ in exams.

Please note any cancellations with less than 24 hours notice cannot be rearranged or refunded unless their are exceptional circumstances.

I hope to hear from you soon!

Description of my services

I believe I offer the most thorough tutoring service possilbe, I come up with tailored plans for each individual student and track progress using the app I have developed.

Categories/Subjects
Location

Lancaster, UK

Details
  • Contact Email
  • Website

    https://www.prioritylearning.co.uk

  • Online, Face to Face or Both?

    Face to Face, Online

  • Location

    Lancaster, UK

Contact me
mood_bad
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a review